St John the Evangelist, RushfordKey holder details displayed in porch.
This church building is often locked but a key is available nearby. There will be a notice in the church porch with details of where the key is held.Church is unique as a collegiate church built by Edward Gonville for 6 monks and a master. the chancel, roof, transepts were destroyed by the Earl of Surrey in 1520, during the Dissolution of the Monasteries, and used as stables. A new east timber frame east wall was erected and the roof thatched in 1580 and the church reinstated. In 1904 an apse was added, which has been recently repaired and refurbished.
Incorrect information? Update this entry